Home Internationals move by FA

THE FA are in talks over a move to revive the home international tournament contested by England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Last held in 1984, soon-to-be new sponsors of all four nation’s national teams Vauxhall would like to see the return of the competition.
However it is not thought that fixtures could be put in place until after Euro 2012 has taken place.
The Home Internationals were started in 1884 and contested for 100 seasons before being dropped, with England having won or shared 54 titles, Scotland 41, Wales 12 and Ireland eight.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s