International call-up for Pennant – for Ireland?

jermaine pennant.jpeg
STOKE winger Jermaine Pennant could make an unexpected return to international football, playing for the Republic of Ireland.
The former England Under-21 player, now 28, has given up hope of an international career for his country of birth – but believes he may qualify for Ireland through his grandfather.
He said: “My grandad is Irish, so there’s a chance I can play for them. I’m not getting any younger and I would like to play international football.
“And who’s to say Ireland can’t get to the next World Cup? If I could be a part of that, then it would be great.
“Of course, I would love to play for England, but it has never happened and I don’t think it is going to.
“That’s not because of my ability, but maybe misdemeanours in the past have put a halt to that coming about.”

Leave a Reply

