Premier League Predictions Revisited: “I was wrong and I will know better next time.”

wigan celebrate.JPG
LAST August, a fresh faced blogger starting out in the world of football punditry – me – spewed out a few predictions about the season to come…
And looking back – what the bloody hell was I thinking?!?
Having tipped Chelsea to win the league – which they had a good shot at in the end, despite a mid-season blip – I messed up big time, predicting a strong season for Arsenal at the expense of Manchester United.
As well all know now, Arsenal did an Arsenal and threw their good work away at the sharp end of the season, while Manchester United chewed up the opposition and took a record 19th title.
I also predicted Everton would be surprise Champions League qualifiers…
Moving swiftly on
At the other end of the table, I stirred up some emotions by predicting Wigan to be relegated, alongside West Bromwich Albion and Blackpool.
A slew of posters questioned my judgement – despite Wigan leaving it until 12 minutes before the end of the season to escape the drop – with Tommo saying: “Wigan will not be relegated.
“At the end of the season I expect you to say ‘I was wrong and I will know better next time.'”
In the end, only Blackpool succumbed – I was wrong and I will know better next time.
Maybe.

Leave a Reply

