Westwood’s career nearly copped it

kieren westwood.jpg
SUNDERLAND signing Keiren Westwood nearly gave his goalie gloves a rest and became a policeman.
After being rejected by Manchester CIty as a 19-year-old, the custodian had so many unsuccesful trials he nearly said ‘nein, nein, nein’ to football to join the force.
However halfway through filling in his application form, he landed a trial at Carlisle – who he successfully courted.
He said: “After City released me the summer I had was wretched.
“I was passed from pillar to post, had a trial here and there, promises of contracts which were not going to happen and in the end I was going to join the police force.
“I was filling out forms for the police at my mum’s house when I got the call to go to Carlisle, so it’s funny how things turn out.”

Leave a Reply

