Teenager breaks FA Cup record on his debut

A SIXTEEN-year-old striker made his senior debut last weekend – and shot his way into the record books as the youngest ever goalscorer in the FA Cup.
At 16 years and 25 days old, Barrow Town forward Sean Cato hadn’t been expecting to be named on the bench, let alone be brought on in the second half of the 7-2 win over Rothwell Town.
But when the teen netted a debut goal, it fired him into the history books of the world’s oldest club football competition – beating the record believed to have been set in 2008 by Liverpool midfielder Jonjo Shelvey, then playing for Charlton Athletic, against Norwich aged 16 years and 311 days.
Cato said: “I was not really expecting to play. I got a call up and was on the bench, and then with about half an hour to go I was told to warm up and stretch off.
“With 20 minutes left I was told to go on and try and get a goal. The ball came to me and I put it away to score.
“I thought that was pretty good for a 16-year-old, but I didn’t really realise how big a deal it was until the next day when I had a game for the under-17s and one of my friends parents said I might be the youngest ever.”

2 thoughts on “Teenager breaks FA Cup record on his debut

Leave a Reply

