Shevchenko becomes professional golfer

FORMER AC Milan and Chelsea striker Andriy Shevchenko, former European Footballer of the Year, is to make his professional golfing debut today.
The 36-year-old Ukrainian is to take part in golf’s Challenge Tour at the Kharkov Superior Cup in his home nation, after getting a special invitation to the event.
He said: “This is the first big event for me and of course it is the first event in Ukraine so it’s a huge event for golf in this country.
“I have played with many good players in pro-ams but this is different. I hope I play well…but I just want to have a good time and enjoy the week.
“It’s quite different to football alright. I started to play golf to escape from the pressure from football.
“I come on to a golf course and turn off my phone and just walk the course and hit some balls. It’s one of the reasons why I started to play. I just found this great game where you have to be focused and balanced and that’s why I like it. I like that mental balance.”

Leave a Reply

